Dragon Age: Origins

My friends pre-ordered me a copy of Dragon Age: Origins for my birthday in August.  I picked it up the first day it was available and started playing right away.  Being a huge BioWare fan since Baldur’s Gate came out around 1998, and was looking forward to getting back to my RPG roots.

I found the beginning story arc a great way to get you invested in your character.  I selected a  Human Noble Rogue for my first run through the game and got hooked.  I made the decision right off the hop that I would only make two saves (one in camp and one during the story line I was playing) and not try to do every trophy unlock the first time through.  This also help make all the decisions more impactful, and since I am generally a nice guy my character put on a brave face and helped anyone who asked for it.

The fighting system took a little getting use to after all my years of turn based RPG’s but the tactics system makes a world of difference.  I generally set up my group to have a Defender (Shale),  a Healer (Morrigan), and either Alister or a group member for that specific story line.  I like the option of having the game auto level the party members and I did this for my first time through.

The story line I started with was finding the Urn to heal the Arle of Redcliffe, followed by the Elvish, Dwarven and then Magi.  I am glad I did not play through all the introductory story arcs because it would have had an influence on my decision during the game.  The story keep me interested in the game and always wanting to know what was going to happen next.

The graphics on the PS3 for Dragon Age are good, you can tell this was not the platform it was designed for.  That being said I have no complaints, the cut scenes are well done and the land scape is beautiful.  The only thing I wish they would have though of was being able to take screen shots on the console versions and have them saved on your profile online like the PC version.

The one gripe I have about the ending is that as you find out what happens after you finish your quest it is all text.  For a game that relies so heavily on great voice work, why is the ending only music?  I don’t think it would have been that difficult to have each scenario voiced since they are only a few paragraphs.  This is just a small complaint since the rest of the game is so amazing.  I already have been thinking about how I will play my next campaign and with what characters will accompany me.

Leave a Reply

