One Week of FFXI

I have logged about 12 hours now in Final Fantasy XI and am really enjoying it.  Most of my time has been playing solo, hunting in West Ronfaure with a minor excursion into La Theine Plateau (where some rabbits easily killed me).

So far I really like the game, it’s a nice change of pace from all the crazy button mashing MMO`s.  This one plays more like a turn based RPG where you select an option from an action menu.  I am currently playing a Red Mage and just hit level 10.  I enjoy the versility of the this class, I have to ability to heal, cast damage spells and use bladed weapons!

The ability to change your jobs is a huge advantage in my mind for this game.  It offers you the chance to try classes without having to delete your character if you don`t like them, instead you just head to your Mog House and switch to another job.  I also like the auction house set up in FFXI.  There are 2 key reasons:

1. I like are the fact it shows all the items that can be purchased even if no one is currently selling it, and

2. You can check what the item has been previously sold for.  You can see the past 10 sales for the item which is great for new players to make sure you don`t over pay or put items up for a lot less than they are worth.

Since this MMO can be played on a console (I am playing it on my PC), I went out and bought a Gamepad.  I plan to play FFXIV on the PS3 so I decided to see how Square set up FFXI for the Xbox 360 and PS2.  After playing around with the setting for about half an hour I finally had it set the way I though would work best for me and spent about an hour playing and really enjoyed it.  Being able to use the two analog sticks for movement and camera is a very nice.

Overall I am really enjoying my time in Final Fantasy XI and I have just cracked the surface.  I still need to unlock the Sub Job option that lets you partly combine two classes and I hope to open the Dragoon class.  I see myself enjoying this game for the next few months at least.  If you are looking to try a different style MMO that is well polished look Gutvik up on the Asura server.

2 Responses to “One Week of FFXI”

  1. It’s good to know that you have been enjoying the game at such a low level, a lot of people usually quit the game waaay before they even reach 10. Which is a shame because once you reach 10+ you start to party and level with other people and it starts to get fun and when you reach 30+ then it just gets addicting, well it was for me. What server do you play on anyways?

  2. arthur1977 Says:

    I am looking forward to partying in the Dunes in the near future. I created Gutvik on the Asura Server after reading a post on eorzeapedia.com about some players trying out FFXI before FFXIV comes out. Its been a great choice so far.

Leave a Reply

