Challenging week at work.

I am a Project Safety Resource at the widget plant I work for. My primary responsibility is to ensure that  government and company rules and regulations are followed by the contract personnel assigned to my projects.  

More often then not I have no issues with the groups I am overseeing, they are professional and ask questions when they are unsure of the rules and regulations.  This week however it seemed like two out of my three contractor groups decided to not follow the basic rules that are expected in any construction site.  During the week I had to enter two Safety Incident Reports for obvious rule violations and confiscate some slings because they were to damaged to use.  On the plus side no one was hurt and the violations were minor.  I struggle to understand why some people disregard safety rules and then challenge when they are called on them.

Tomorrow is the start of another week.  Let’s see if my groups have learned their lesson from last week or do I need to take a stricter approach with my groups.  I have been told that you don’t make friends being a safety representative and I think I proved that point last week.

Leave a Reply

